91社区

How to Find Your Advisor

Advising Plan for Pre-Health students at 91社区

Students interested in a career in the health care field should arrange a meeting with a member of the Pre-Health Advising committee as early as possible in their time at 91社区.

Most post graduate health care programs have academic as well as experiential components as part of the admission process, thus students need plans for summer or winter break that include shadowing or other experiences in addition to internships and/or research that may be taken for credit during the semester or in the summer.

The Pre-Health Advising committee can assist students with this academic planning as well as provide information and opportunities for internships and other experiences.

Join HPP

If you are a current First-Year, sophomore or junior student, we strongly encourage you to join the new Health Professions Program (HPP). Completion of HPP is designed to enhance to your Pre-Health preparation with early exposure to the breadth of healthcare pathway options. HPP will greatly enhance your knowledge about health care and help you understand the social determinants of health, the value of interprofessional team work, and the ethical and empathetical mindsets with which you as a health professional should provide patient care to the diverse community that you will one day serve.

Pre-Health contact for HPP:  Prof. Ann Maine

How to find a Pre-Health committee member for assistance?

The 2023-24 Committee Members are:
Prof. Ann Maine, Committee Chair
maine@lakeforest.edu
Kathleen Elsasser, HPP Coordinator
kelsasser@lakeforest.edu
Khadija Manzoor, Career Advancement Center
kmanzoor@lakeforest.edu
Prof Will Conrad, Chemistry 
conrad@lakeforest.edu
Prof. Paul Gladen, Chemistry
gladen@lakeforest.edu
Prof. Andrew Gard, Math and Computer Science
agard@lakeforest.edu
Prof. Karen Kirk, Biology
kirk@lakeforest.edu
Prof. Brian Page, Chemistry
page@lakeforest.edu
Prof. Benjamin Swerdlow, Psychology 
bswerdlow@lakeforest.edu
Prof. Naomi Wentworth, Psychology, Neuroscience
wentwort@lakeforest.edu

1. If your academic advisor is on this committee, start with them.
2. Students pursing the following majors should contact any of the faculty members listed below for that major:

Biology: Kirk
BMB: Kirk/Conrad
Chemistry: Gladen/Conrad/Page
Computer Science/Data Science/Math:  Gard
Neuroscience: Wentworth
Psychology:  Swerdlow/Wentworth
Other: Maine

3. Students who are majoring in other departments or have not yet declared a major could start
with someone in their main area of interest.

MD/DO: Maine
Physician Assistant: Maine
Dental Medicine/Veterinary Medicine: 
Kirk
Optometry/Physical Therapy:  Conrad/Page
Pharmacy:  Gladen
Nursing: Maine
Clinical Counseling/Clinical Psychology/Occupational Therapy: Swerdlow/Wentworth
Epidemiology/Public Health/Biostatistics/Data Analytics: Gard
Other: Maine

Dual-Degree Program Pathway contacts:

All RFU pathways: Maine 
DePaul and RUSH Nursing pathways: Maine
Midwestern pathways: Maine
WashU Biomedical Engineering pathway: Nathan Mueggenburg
mueggenburg@lakeforest.edu
847-735-5164

4. For more details on shadowing and internships please contact: Khadija Manzoor, Career Advancement Center, kmanzoor@lakeforest.edu.

5. If you are unable to contact any committee member as advised above, you should always contact the committee chair Prof. Ann Maine.
maine@lakeforest.edu